Hello my darlings,

Today I thought I’d try something a little different. This week’s post isn’t going to be beauty-related, but instead it’s going to be about fashion.

If any of you are like I am–which, if you are reading a beauty and lifestyle blog, I have a sneaking suspicion you are–then you have a passion for fashion. Personally, I have been really into clothes since before I can remember. I’ve had a thing for shoes from a VERY young age (we’re talking 3 or 4 here), and I have always loved to be well-dressed!

When I was younger, I was all about staying trendy. And while this meant that I was perpetually donning new clothing and staying relevant, it also meant I needed to buy a new wardrobe every season, and constantly found myself overwhelmed in excess clothing that hardly ever got worn again.

As I’ve matured, and specifically within the past two years, I’ve started to change the way I think about my style, and fashion in general. I’m an avid documentary watcher, and as consequence of such I started watching documentaries about fast-fashion and consumer consciousness. Both of which are topics I’ll cover in other blog posts… (If you are interested in these subjects before then, I would suggest starting with this documentary.)

As I’ve spent more and more time exploring these topics, I’ve recently become interested in the idea of investing in staple pieces that are well made and will last from season to season–classic pieces–rather than constantly pouring money into poorly-made, cheap clothes that will only be relevant for one, or maybe two, seasons. And through my exploration of what this means, I’ve also become interested in the phenomenon of minimalist fashion, and by extension, the capsule wardrobe.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the capsule wardrobe, it is basically the idea of building a wardrobe around a few staple pieces. For example: a white t-shirt, well-fitting jeans, a silk blouse, a blazer. But overall the idea is that you have these basic pieces that will last you from season to season until they die, or you do, whichever comes first.

Over the past few months I’ve slowly been purging my wardrobe and investing in a few classic pieces that will take me from season to season. It’s been an interesting exercise in redefining my own style, but I wasn’t exactly feeling ready to fully commit to the minimalist wardrobe. However, the other night as I was watching yet another documentary on minimalism, I stumbled across Project 333 (pronounced “three thirty-three”).

The overarching theme of the project is based in the capsule wardrobe idea: it challenges people to build a wardrobe using only 33 pieces, including shoes, outwear, and accessories, and to wear these 33 pieces for 3 months. Once I finished hearing about it, I felt so inspired! I knew this was exactly what I had been looking for. Which is what brings us to this week’s blog post. I have decided to take on this challenge as my own experiment in the world of minimalist fashion. And since May 1st in on Monday, there’s no time like the present.

The Project 333 website outlines a few rules, but also encourages anyone looking to take on this challenge to put their own creative twist on it. As stated above, the woman who designed this project encourages participants to build a wardrobe of only 33 pieces, though there other fashion bloggers who assert the magic number is actually 37, and others still who embrace the slim number 12. Regardless, I think the point is if you’re trying this idea/project out, you’re doing it right.

As far as the rules for Project 333 go, the gist is basically this:

-First, go through your closet and make a donation bag for the clothes you don’t like anymore

-Throw out whatever articles of clothing that have reached the end of their life

-Build a wardrobe with 33 pieces

-This number includes shoes, accessories, outerwear, but does not include loungewear, workout clothing, underwear, or sentimental jewelry that you wear every day

-Box up the rest of the clothes that aren’t included in your capsule wardrobe

-Cry (jk)

I opted out of boxing up the rest of my clothing, instead I decided to hang up my new wardrobe on the opposite side of my closet, so there would be no confusion. Also, I just went through my clothing a few weeks prior, so I decided to skip the initial step.

To be frank when I started the process of building my capsule wardrobe I thought it was going to be pretty easy. I went into thinking about which pieces I absolutely love and wear frequently, as well as trying to develop some sort of cohesive color story that I thought would aid me in picking out what to wear. Which, it did help, but I also learned quickly that 33 is a surprisingly small number when it also includes accessories, outwear, and shoes.

Here’s what it looks like right now:

20170426_160307_HDR

Since the months I’ll be conducting this experiment include two summer months, I definitely wanted to include shorts and lighter-weight pants. Also, I live my life in leggings, so of course they’re getting put in.

20170426_161027_HDR

(Please excuse the horrible quality of these photos, gosh. The lighting in my room is awful.) I also wanted to include dresses since it’s spring and summer, as well as this full black skirt that is really only wearable during the upcoming time of the year. Each of these four dresses are favorites of mine. I wanted to make sure to include pieces that I love to wear at any time, that are also well-made and that fit me well. There are two other dresses that I plan to include in my wardrobe, but they’re currently in the laundry, soooo…..

20170426_161749_HDR

In this super shitty photo that includes the shirts I’ve picked out, this is where my idea of a color story is the most obvious. I have been really into muted tones recently: greys, blush pinks, dusty purples, etc. Plus black and white go with literally everything and will make it easy to mix and match the different pieces in this wardrobe. That being said, I still may make a few tweaks to this section of the wardrobe before Monday.

20170426_162615_HDR

The outwear section was seriously the toughest part. Colorado is pretty unpredictable when it comes to weather, especially in the spring. For example, earlier this week it was in the high 70s, and as I’m writing this, it’s snowing! Plus we technically aren’t out of the freeze-zone until after Mother’s Day weekend. So, this may be where I have to give myself a little bit of flexibility out of necessity, but we’ll see what Mother Nature brings. Anyway, three of the four pieces are neutral colors, the floral jacket is one of my favorite pieces I own. I’m completely obsessed with floral print, and again, this piece is really only appropriate during spring/early summer, so I had to throw it in.

20170426_162924_HDR

Shoes! I am a shoe freak, so only wearing four pairs of shoes over the next three months might be kind of depressing, but whatever. Again, neutral colors all the way…

Two things I did notice while going through the initial process of building this wardrobe is one, that I was immediately inspired to go through my wardrobe again and get rid more stuff, and two, I do in fact wear a large bulk of the clothing I own. So! As I embark upon this minimalist journey, I invite you all to follow my voyage on Instagram. Please let me know your thoughts on what I come up with!

Now, I want to know what you guys think! Are you interested in Project 333 and/or minimalist fashion and consumer consciousness at all? What are some of your favorite pieces in your wardrobe? What’s your favorite season to dress for? Leave your answers in the comments below!

Thanks so much for reading, my loves. Until next week!

Bisous! xx

-A

 

Leave a Reply

